Forays into the Campus 50: III

Dear Reader,

On the 22nd of May 2013, I challenged Sian Elvin to the ‘Campus 50 challenge‘, a list of 50 Warwick University specific challenges to be completed before leaving the university for graduate life, which we would race to complete. By the end of my first year, I was somewhere near having half of them done. Towards the end of second year, there was a fair few still to go – and now, with a term left of my time at the University of Warwick, there are 10 things left to tick off: which leaves me one a week to finish on time. Let’s get cracking!

THE CHALLENGES

  1. Feed the campus wildlife Third Term, First Year. Proof.
  2. Hand in an essay early I managed this twice. I am a model student.
  3. Busk on campus for charity Matt Palin can testify that we busked on Red Nose Day, singing Payphone together. I was hungover. My voice broke. Twice.
  4. Kiss someone out of your league Great chat up line, that.
  5. Teach someone something – whether small or large From teaching a fellow fresher to cook pasta to helping at Latin and Ballroom classes and compiling the behemoth handover guide to RAG that is the RAG Bible, I’ve done my fair share of teaching at Warwick.
  6. Study in every library that exists on campus
  7. Make your own booze
    Mint Vodka. There was a filtration system and shit.
  8. Have an incredibly elaborate picnic on a uni green space one lunch time My 19th Birthday Party, in the final term of First Year, was a picnic outside Westwood with over 20 attendees and three bottles of champagne. (I’m glad I did this in first year, cause they’ve dug them all up now!)
  9. Audit a lecture completely out of your field I was considering doing a Law conversion course. It put me off.
  10. Go to the careers office and speak to them completely honestly – whatever your thoughts and fears, loves and hates… Done, and documented on this blog elsewhere.
  11. Start a conga at a big union night. See how long you can get it, before leading it as far from the music as possible (if you can get it to a house party or another club night, regardless of task completion, you win the challenge)
  12. Take part in a protest
  13. Write for every section of the Boar Have written for News, Comment, Lifestyle, Books and Art at present. Time is pressing on a bit.
  14. If you think a lecture was particularly good, try and instigate a standing ovation At 2pm on Friday of Week 10 of term 2, my final year, I gave a little whoop. It was embarrassing.
  15.  Give your parents a in depth tour of all the great stuff you do and love at University (It’ll make for an amazing trip for them, and make them feel happy whenever they think of you at uni) Gave my mum a tour at the end of the second term of my second year, which mostly featured the offices of SUHQ and the learning grid.
  16. Win a pub quiz At various points I came second. At one point, I won by default. I consulted the mediator. It counts.
  17. Go on a blind date Tinder counts as blind.
  18. Pull a postgraduate We don’t talk about it.
  19. Celebrate something by doing the classic shake up a bottle of champagne and spraying it all over yourself and everywhere (or at least do it with sparkling wine..!) See number 8. (I have since learned how to do it slightly better.)
  20. Go inside (and have a little explore of) every building that is part of the university
  21. Become a wise mentor for a Fresher doing your course. Tell them what you wish you’d known How to log onto the wifi was the main thing, really.
  22. Learn a new sport or instrument or activity that you never thought you would I learned Latin and Ballroom dancing, and absolutely love it. The proof is all over Facebook.
  23. Make a difference to a society
  24. Get an internship I have interned with the British Red Cross in Coventry during the Easter break of First Year, as well as Turl Street Kitchen and Breast Cancer Campaign in the summer after Second Year.
  25. Run a society/club circle As the social secretary of Latin and Ballroom from the third term of Second Year till the end of term two of Third Year, I ran multiple circles, as well as terminations, adoptions and pub golf. Many drunken dramas rest on my shoulders, and I couldn’t be prouder.
  26. Take part in an open mic night After developing a love for Spoken Word poetry over the summer between First and Second years, I performed at several open mic nights with the Poetry Slamming society as well as competing in Shoot from the Lip on three occasions.
  27. Sing at karaoke I attended both Boar and Latin and Ballroom socials to ‘Quackstar’, the karoake night held in the SU Pub, the Dirty Duck. I sang badly at both. Drinks were thrown at one.
  28. Ask someone out who you don’t have a chance with They said yes… That went well.
  29. Forgive yourself for doing a “useless” degree Through my work in the Student’s Union, correspondence with the career’s department and internships in various sectors, I’ve learned to view my university experience as something that stems from, and far beyond, my degree – with my degree as the access point, rather than the be-all-and-end-all of what is shaping up to be the best three years of my life.
  30. Go on a RAG Raid Throughout my years in RAG, I have been on several street collections, raising thousands of pounds as an individual: my favourite Raids include London Loot 20132014 and 2015.
  31. Be involved in a RaW show After doing Live Below the Line for Practical Action (as part of my London to Paris fundraising), I was invited onto the news show ‘Insight’. I was handed the microphone and immediately had a nosebleed. Standard. (I wasn’t invited back for a while after that).
  32. Be published in INK magazine My poem, “Painkillers”, was published in the last issue of my first year at University.
  33. Make a zombie apocalypse plan with your housemates
  34. Take part in an election campaign  As part of my final year, I ran a last minute campaign to be elected President of Warwick SU. The campaign taught me a lot – including that I have the best friends anyone could ask for – but confirmed that student fundraising was, for now, the right path for me. I wish Isaac Leigh the best of luck in the post, and trust that the union (and the societies that have made it my home) will flourish all the same. (PS: Written about in The Tab, that was number 51, wasn’t it, Sian?)
  35. Do a student adventure Between the 27th and 30th of June, 2014, I cycled from London to Paris on behalf of Practical Action, raising just over £1000 in so doing – I even ended up being featured on the Practical Action Student Facebook page, which can be seen here. I posted about the experience here, too.
  36. Make a friend from a country you haven’t made a friend from before Since joining University I have made friends from all over the world, including Malaysia, India and Dubai – meaning I’ve definitely ticked this box.
  37. Watch the superbowl in the atrium Attended the Superbowl with Sian Elvin and George Creasy towards the end of my final year, and finally redeemed myself in the eyes of RaW by playing a game of American Lingo Bingo (no nosebleeds).
  38. Go to a student cinema event I watched the Game of Thrones season 4 finale in the Student Cinema the day after it came out – it was awesome. (Thanks Tim Green!)
  39. Win a pub golf event In my third term of second year I dubbed my team the Undergraduate Strawpedos and we smashed the competition. Hungover was an understatement.
  40. Win a competition representing Warwick In first year, I won both the beginner Jive and Cha competitions at Keele’s inter-university dance competition. I still have the medals, but here’s a photo of the line-up.
  41. Cook for your flatmates In the week before my second year started, I baked cookies for each housemate as they moved in. I’m adorable like that.
  42. Attend three varsity games, preferably one every year of your degree. Ice Hockey 2013, 2014, 2015. Each time, I went to a fight and an ice hockey game broke out.
  43. Learn the names of everyone in your seminars I managed this in the second term of my second year, but never again since.
  44. Doodle something impressive in a lecture Several lions have been drawn. In various poses and everything. Photos to come.
  45. Give a society you’ve pre-judged an honest chance Oh, Cheese and Chocolate Society. You lived up to expectations.
  46. Be in a WSAF (Warwick Student Arts Festival) performance I’ve been in WSAF both as a spoken-word-poet (not filmed), and as a Latin dancer in the ‘Advanced Trio‘ section of the 2014 Art Festival.
  47. Graduate the fittest I’ve ever been.
  48. Get a first on an assignment I received a mark of 74 on my poetry portfolio from Practice of Poetry, a module I took in second year which taught me a lot about myself, but very little about poetry.
  49. Work out what I want in both personal and professional lives five years from graduation
  50. Circle at a different university.
    Leicester University. Henry King represent.

If you too would like to take part, the official rules for the challenge are that you can only alter a maximum of five of the tasks (either to make them more specific to your university, your course or to allow you to be in a monogamous relationship for the entirety of the challenge), that you have to have some sort of proof that each challenge is completed (a testimony is enough) and that you have to write a status/blog about your experiences on the challenge. Happy Hunting, Andy “The Race is On” King

Leave a Reply

