Forays into the Campus 50: II

Dear Reader,

On the 22nd of May 2013, I challenged Sian Elvin to the ‘Campus 50 challenge‘, a list of 50 Warwick University specific challenges to be completed before leaving the university for graduate life, which we would race to complete. By the end of my first year, I was somewhere near having half of them done. At this point in my academic career (with a year to go), I have undeniably completed 33 of them, with some others that I could claim to (but will attempt to complete more concretely in time). The race to the finish is still very much neck-and-neck, but this is my progress so far…

THE CHALLENGES

  1. Feed the campus wildlife Third Term, First Year. Proof.
  2. Hand in an essay early Easter of Second Year. Aesthetics essay, a week early.
  3. Busk on campus for charity Matt Palin can testify that we busked on Red Nose Day, singing Payphone together. I was hungover. My voice broke. Twice. (But I did do it.)
  4. Kiss someone out of your league A gentleman doesn’t kiss and tell.
  5. Teach someone something – whether small or large In the first term of first year, I taught someone to cook pasta. In the third term of second year, I helped teach an induction Latin and Ballroom class.
  6. Study in every library that exists on campus
  7. Make your own booze
  8. Have an incredibly elaborate picnic on a uni green space one lunch time My 19th Birthday Party, in the final term of First Year, was a picnic outside Westwood with over 20 attendees and three bottles of champagne. Done.
  9. Audit a lecture completely out of your field
  10. Go to the careers office and speak to them completely honestly – whatever your thoughts and fears, loves and hates… Done, and documented on this blog elsewhere.
  11. Start a conga at a big union night. See how long you can get it, before leading it as far from the music as possible (if you can get it to a house party or another club night, regardless of task completion, you win the challenge)
  12. Take part in a protest
  13. Write for every section of the Boar Have written for News, Comment, Lifestyle and Art at present.
  14.  If you think a lecture was particularly good, try and instigate a standing ovation
  15.  Give your parents a in depth tour of all the great stuff you do and love at University (It’ll make for an amazing trip for them, and make them feel happy whenever they think of you at uni) Gave my mum a tour at the end of the second term of my second year, which mostly featured the offices of SUHQ and the learning grid.
  16. Win a pub quiz I came second at the SWAT School Pub Quiz just before starting second year, but this doesn’t yet count.
  17. Go on a blind date
  18. Pull a postgraduate We don’t talk about it.
  19. Celebrate something by doing the classic shake up a bottle of champagne and spraying it all over yourself and everywhere (or at least do it with sparkling wine..!) See number 8.
  20. Go inside (and have a little explore of) every building that is part of the university
  21. Become a wise mentor for a Fresher doing your course. Tell them what you wish you’d known My course has a specific mentoring program. The first thing I gave them was the information about how you log into the wifi.
  22. Learn a new sport or instrument or activity that you never thought you would I learned Latin and Ballroom dancing, and absolutely love it. Proof.
  23. Make a difference to a society
  24. Get an internship I have interned with the British Red Cross in Coventry during the Easter break of First Year, as well as Turl Street Kitchen and the British Red Cross in the summer after Second Year. Posts about these experiences will follow.
  25. Run a society/club circle As the social secretary of Latin and Ballroom from the third term of Second Year till the end of term two of Third Year, I ran multiple circles, as well as terminations, adoptions and pub golf. Many drunken dramas rest on my shoulders, and I couldn’t be prouder.
  26. Take part in an open mic night After developing a love for Spoken Word poetry over the summer between First and Second years, I performed at several open mic nights with the Poetry Slamming society as well as competing in Shoot from the Lip on three occasions.
  27. Sing at karaoke I attended both Boar and Latin and Ballroom socials to ‘Quackstar’, the karoake night held in the SU Pub, the Dirty Duck. I sang badly at both. Drinks were thrown at one.
  28. Ask someone out who you don’t have a chance with They said yes. We’ve been together since June 8th, 2013.
  29. Forgive yourself for doing a “useless” degree Through my work in the Student’s Union, correspondence with the career’s department and internships in various sectors, I’ve learned to view my university experience as something that stems from, and far beyond, my degree – with my degree as the access point, rather than the be-all-and-end-all of what is shaping up to be the best three years of my life.
  30. Go on a RAG Raid Throughout my years in RAG, I have been on several street collections, including London Loot 2013 and 2014.
  31. Be involved in a RaW show After doing Live Below the Line for Practical Action (as part of my London to Paris fundraising), I was invited onto the news show ‘Insight’. I was handed the microphone and immediately had a nosebleed. Standard.
  32. Be published in INK magazine My poem, “Painkillers”, was published in the last issue of my first year at University. Photo of the printed copy to come.
  33. Make a zombie apocalypse plan with your housemates
  34. Take part in an election campaign Campaigned on behalf of Brenda Wong’s “Wong for Welfare” campaign in my second year, but I’m putting this as a placeholder for when I run for Societies Officer myself at the end of my third year (if I do end up running for it, which I obviously may not – thinking about it and doing it are very different things!)
  35. Do a student adventure Between the 27th and 30th of June, 2014, I cycled from London to Paris on behalf of Practical Action, raising just over £1000 in so doing – I even ended up being featured on the Practical Action Student Facebook page, which can be seen here. I posted about the experience here, too.
  36. Make a friend from a country you haven’t made a friend from before Since joining University I have made friends from all over the world, including Malaysia, India and Dubai – meaning I’ve definitely ticked this box.
  37. Watch the superbowl in the atrium
  38. Go to a student cinema event I watched the Game of Thrones season 4 finale in the Student Cinema the day after it came out – which meant avoiding spoilers for an entire day. But it was worth it.
  39. Win a pub golf event In my third term of second year I dubbed my team the Undergraduate Strawpedos and we smashed the competition. Hungover was an understatement.
  40. Win a competition representing Warwick In first year, I won both the beginner Jive and Cha competitions at Keele’s inter-university dance competition. I still have the medals, but here’s a photo of the line-up.
  41. Cook for your flatmates In the week before my second year started, I baked cookies for each housemate as they moved in. I’m adorable like that.
  42. Attend three varsity games, preferably one every year of your degree. Two out of three matches attended.
  43. Learn the names of everyone in your seminars I managed this in the second term of my second year.
  44. Doodle something impressive in a lecture Several lions have been drawn. In various poses and everything. Photos to come.
  45. Give a society you’ve pre-judged an honest chance Oh, Cheese and Chocolate Society. You lived up to expectations.
  46. Be in a WSAF (Warwick Student Arts Festival) performance I’ve been in WSAF both as a spoken-word-poet (not filmed) unfortunately, and as a Latin dancer in the ‘Advanced Trio‘ section of the 2014 Art Festival.
  47. Be written about in the Tab.
  48. Get a first on an assignment I received a mark of 74 on my poetry portfolio from Practice of Poetry, a module I took in second year which taught me a lot about myself, but very little about poetry.
  49. Work out what I want in both personal and professional lives five years from graduation
  50. Circle at a different university.

If you too would like to take part, the official rules for the challenge are that you can only alter a maximum of five of the tasks (either to make them more specific to your university, your course or to allow you to be in a monogamous relationship for the entirety of the challenge), that you have to have some sort of proof that each challenge is completed (a testimony is enough) and that you have to write a status/blog about your experiences on the challenge. Happy Hunting, Andy “I’m Nearly There” King

Leave a Reply

